Ard Wiki:Peer review/Archive 1

Midwestern United States

A decent article that I'd like to eventually put up for nomination as a very good article after it's had some input from other editors. What does it need? · Tygartl1·talk·</sup> 20:46, 18 April 2007 (UTC)

It's very good, and simplifies most of the important content from EN. Jordanhatch 11:05, 20 April 2007 (UTC)
Very good article. But might need one or two more pictures to make look better. --§ Alastor Moody (T + C) 16:52, 23 June 2007 (UTC)

Help:Contributions

I got an idea from EN but I pretty much wrote it all from scratch. I feel it needs some work and perhaps some images to make it more "readable", but I'd like you to give me some advice and some improvements for the page. Jordanhatch 21:56, 11 April 2007 (UTC)

Well, the first thing I noticed is that en:Help:Contributions is about using your own "My contributions" page and how to see other people's contributions. It's also about what each item on the "My contributions" page means. Do you plan to add that information to your page here? I think it would be a good idea to have a page that shows people how to use their "my changes" page and what everything on it means. Perhaps we have that information in some other form at simple:wiki. I'm not certain. Also, another thing I thought of was that maybe the page should be called "Help:Changes" or "Help:User changes" since 'changes' or 'edits' are generally preferred to 'contributions' for simplicity reasons. By the way, I agree with you--a screenshot would be a great addition to the page. · Tygartl1·talk·</sup> 20:19, 18 April 2007 (UTC)
We could make a entire section in the Help Contents on "My Controls" or "My Tools" and I think we should make a guide to the My Changes feature as Help:My changes. Discuss this on the talk page. Jordanhatch 11:04, 20 April 2007 (UTC)

Chopstick

Chopstick needs a peer review. Please read it!Coffsneeze 02:36, 15 April 2007 (UTC)

Napalm

Article was copied over from enWP;I went through a first round of simplifications. Many more will probably be necessary till it is at a level our users will understand. I invite the community to help. --Eptalon 18:09, 10 April 2007 (UTC)

Many undefined words or red links. Coffsneeze 20:07, 10 April 2007 (UTC)

I know. my idea of getting it simpler was to first go over the language; I have made a few sentences shorter, and replaced words here and there. This will not be a very good article in the near future. As to the redlinks; I will tackle them once I managed to get the language under control. Some redlinks may disappear i future versions, hence starting at the redlinks is a bad idea. --Eptalon 20:17, 10 April 2007 (UTC)

Dolley Payne Todd Madison

I request for a peer review of Dolley Payne Todd Madison. It only has one red link. It also needs sources.Coffsneeze 19:12, 6 April 2007 (UTC)

  • Many terms need linking (too many to list). Several section need rewording. Her period as first lady is somewhat ambiguous and could mean that J.Madison was President during her term as First Lady rather than her being First Lady during his term as President (He was President while she was First Lady). The final sentence definately needs cleaned up. There is too much being said about trivial matters such as her father and son. They do not need 3-4 sentences to say they were poor and a problem child. (if they need to be mentioned by more than just a name anyway). Image needs to be thumbnailed (and likely the size removed - usage of the default size is usually best) -- Creol(talk) 07:32, 7 April 2007 (UTC)

Vitamin D/Category:Vitamins

I request for a peer review.Coffsneeze 02:25, 1 April 2007 (UTC)

Good idea, I created some of the missing vitamin articles. It would be good for the community to review them (basically all of Category:Vitamins. We might also need someone with a better backgorund in chemistry or biology than me to create the missing articles of the Vitamin B complex.--Eptalon 08:53, 1 April 2007 (UTC)

Iwasawa theory

This is a nice theory, involving quite a bit of math. Copied the article from en, and started to get a number of annex articles. All of those will need review, and very likely simplification. So anyone good with group theory, ring theory, should step forward and try to simplify these. Very likely needs a strong mathematical background -- Eptalon 21:55, 23 February 2007 (UTC)

All articles in Category:Provinces of Cuba

I have basically copied all the Cuban province articles (from EnWP). I have also made them so simple as to be understandable. The problem is that many of them are in a poor state, and should be improved. --Eptalon 15:35, 21 February 2007 (UTC)

All articles in Category:Logic

I tried my best, but coming up with simple examples is hard for me to do. -- Eptalon 13:27, 25 November 2006 (UTC)

  • It's good effort here. I might help you search through.-- Tdxiang 13:28, 25 November 2006 (UTC)
  • NAND and NOR are still missing, but AND,OR,NOT,EQUALS,IMPIES are there. I also wonder if we should drop the difference between a logic gate, and the logic function it implements; most of these also hold for boolean algebra. -- Eptalon 13:32, 25 November 2006 (UTC)

Saddam Hussein

At the moment, it is long, and quite unsimple. I think a peer effort to make it simpler, while keeping it up to date, would be needed. Also create or remove all the missing, outgoing links. It would be well suited for a community effort -- Eptalon 16:10, 18 November 2006 (UTC)

  • Im making it a project of mine, Need other peoples help too Michael223 22:24, 6 February 2007 (UTC)

Guantanamo Bay

Can we come up with a NPOV, simple article on this? -- Eptalon 14:38, 14 November 2006 (UTC)

This has been done, we do have separate articles now for the geographc bay, the us facililty there, the province and the city in cuba, as well as a disambig page listing them all. -Eptalon

Khalistan

I tried to rewrite it to be more NPOV, however, I am completely unfamiliar with the subject. Please correct, and append as you see fit. I left a note to User:Bhadani, since I know he is from the region -- Eptalon 23:54, 6 November 2006 (UTC)

Punjab region

Same argument as in Khalistan. All I know from Punjab is the style of Indian food. Extend-append-correct as you see fit. -- Eptalon 23:54, 6 November 2006 (UTC)

Alpine Lynx

I've never made an article here before. Please tell me whether my writing is acceptable or not. I would also like to know where I could improve. It's basically a simplicification of the English article, which has no cited sources. That's why I didn't include any. Thank you. Badbilltucker 20:15, 6 November 2006 (UTC)

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

It is at reasonable length, and has a picture. How could this article be improved? PullToOpen Talk/Contribs 01:24, 27 October 2006 (UTC)


Sega Dreamcast

Currently it's at a reasonable length with citations, pictures, and external links, but I feel that it could need a little bit more work. Any suggestions on improving it?--TBCΦtalk? 10:22, 29 September 2006 (UTC)

  • Overall, this looks like a great article. I don't have any real complaints, but it might be nice to add a little more content to the "Release" section. Good work! PullToOpen Talk/Contribs 00:03, 2 October 2006 (UTC)

There's a few spots that could stand to be reworded so they're simpler, but they're very minor. I think it looks pretty good for now. Supernovacaine 13:46, 30 October 2006 (UTC)

Linux

I've done some extensive work on adding stuff while keeping it simple. Added quite a bit of history. Article feels full now, without being unsimple. I'd like to know how I can improve it and if it's good enough for VGA status? T. Moitie - Talk - Esperanza 23:30, 11 September 2006 (UTC)

  • Link it to related sites and grab more pictures, be it screenshots. You've done a fantastic job, friend!-- Tdxiang@ 09:57, 13 September 2006 (UTC)

Fencing

Much copied and pasted from EN, simplification was rather difficult. I think there's definitely more that could be put in there, but I don't quite know how to do it. Archer7 | talk 13:23, 25 May 2006 (UTC)

Informative, short and sweet. Good work.-- Tdxiang 08:18, 1 August 2006 (UTC)
Yes, more can be put in there. For now, it has a nice amount of information. --Gray Porpoise 17:00, 10 August 2006 (UTC)

God paradox

How about god paradox? I added it as an example to the philosophy -page. --Lussmu 21:10, 3 Jul 2004 (UTC)

The information's OK, but it will need major simplification. It's not so much the words used, it's more the way it's put together, your sentence structure etc. Archer7 18:06, 14 March 2006 (UTC)
It also needs citations and external sources.--TBCΦtalk? 00:02, 28 September 2006 (UTC)

Devon

Please can anyone here give their opinion on the Devon article? It is my first serious attempt at simplifying an article from En. - Marknew 09:02, 3 Apr 2005 (UTC)

Excellent article, very informative. Archer7 18:08, 14 March 2006 (UTC)

Psychiatry

page currently has unsimple category tag I would appreciate if someone can checked this out. I have made extensive changes and additions and would love helpful critique and other feedback. Tell me what you think. --I am Kiwi 10:12, 4 September 2006 (UTC)

Bundesliga

My first attempt at simplifying a page. I didn't really change the content, but the language is quite different now. The anonymous edit is also mine. Is it simple now? Or is there anything that still needs to be changed? --Rimshot 13:48, 27 January 2007 (UTC)

  • It simplified up nicely. I did a light touch up on it (mainly Soccer -> Football) and removed the simp tag. -- Creol(talk) 14:17, 27 January 2007 (UTC)
    Thanks for looking at it. -- Rimshot 15:10, 27 January 2007 (UTC)

Answerbag

I'd like for someone to review the 10,000th article, which is Answerbag. Approximately one hour after midnight, I created Answerbag. I knew it was the 10,000th because immediately after, I looked at the Statistics and saw that there were exactly 10,000 legitimate pages. --E.N.G. 19:58, 26 July 2006 (UTC)

  • It has been deleted before I could even see it. Sorry. :( -- Tdxiang@ 09:58, 13 September 2006 (UTC)

Ukrainian Red Midget

I fixed this extremely poor translation. English as basically the same article. The question would be to dig in russian/ukrainian (or other wikipedia), to find out whether this is not really about Thai hot (Thai pepper, Capsicum frutescens). Also a re-translate from source would probably be a good thing to have. --Eptalon 02:27, 28 May 2007 (UTC)